Islands of India

  • Major islands groups of India are Andaman and Nicobar Archipelago in Bay of Bengal and Lakshadweep islands in Arabian Sea.
andaman nicobar

Andaman and Nicobar Islands

  • This archipelago is composed of 572 big and small islands
  • This  islands extend about 590 km.
  • Andaman and Nicobar Islands were formed due to collision between Indian Plate and Burma Minor Plate (part of Eurasian Plate)
  • Andaman and Nicobar Islands are southward extension of Arakan Yoma range of Myanmar (its an extension of Purvanchal Hills)
  • Andaman islands are divided into three main islands North, Middle and South
  • Duncan passage separates Little Andaman from South Andaman.
  • Great Andaman separated by 100 Channel from the Nicobar group
  • Port Blair, the capital of Andaman Nicobar Islands lies in the South Andaman.
  • Among the Nicobar islands, the Great Nicobar is the largest and southernmost island and is very close to Sumatra island of Indonesia
  • 60 Channel separates Great Nicobar and Sumatra
  • Most of these islands are made of tertiary sandstone, limestone and shale resting on basic and ultrabasic volcanoes
  • Barren is only active volcanoes in India and South Asia (erupted last time in 1994-95)
  • Narcondam Island is a dormant volcano
  • Saddle peak (737 m) in North Andaman is the highest peak.
  • Some of the islands are fringed with coral reefs. Many of them are covered with thick forests.

Lakshadweep Islands

  • In the Arabian Sea, there are three group of islands.
  • These islands are located at a distance of 280 km-480 km off the Kerala coast.
  • The entire island group is built of coral deposits (Atoll), tiny islands and are surrounded by fringing reefs.
  • There are approximately 36 islands of which 11 are inhabited.
  • Minicoyis the largest island
  • The entire group of islands is broadly divided by the Eleventh degree channel, north of which is the Amini Island and to the south of the Canannore Island.
  • Amendivi Islands are the northern most while the Minicoy island is the southernmost.
  • Most of the islands have low elevation and do not rise more than five metre above sea level (Extremely Vulnerable to sea level change).

Some other Island of India

  • Salsette – India’s most populous island. Mumbai city is located on this island. Ulhas river and Vasai creek divided it from mainland.
  • Sriharikota – A barrier island. On this island Satish Dhawan Launch Station is  located
  • Aliabet – India’s first off-shore oil well site (Gujarat); about 45 km from Bhavnagar, it is in the Gulf of Khambat.
  • New Moore Island – in the Ganga delta. It is also known as Purbasha Island. In 2010, it was reported to have been completely submerged by the rising sea water due to Global warming.
  • Pamban Island – Also called Rameshwaram, lies between India and Sri Lanka and separated by pamban channel.
  • Wheeler Island – near the Odisha coast; it is a missile launching station in Bay of Bengal
  • Diu – UT of India, is an island in Khambat