Motions in Parliament of India


Motions in Parliament of India

  • Discussion on a matter of public importance need a motion in Parliament of India.
  • It can be made with the consent of the presiding officer.
  • The House expresses its decisions through the adoption or rejection of motions.
  • Motions can be moved by ministers or private members.


11 types of motions in parliament of india


Substantive Motion

Motions in Parliament of India

Substitute Motion

  • It is a motion that is moved in substitution of an original motion.
  • If substitute motion is adopted by the House, it supersedes the original motion.


Subsidiary Motion

  • It cannot state the decision of the House without reference to the original motion
  • Subsidiary motion has 3 subcategories
    • Ancillary Motion – It is used as the regular way of proceeding with various kinds of business.
    • Superseding Motion – It is moved in the course of debate on another issue and seeks to supersede that issue.
    • Amendment – It seeks to modify or substitute only a part of the original motion.



Closure Motion

  • Closure motion moved by a member to cut short the debate.
  • If it is approved by the House, debate is stopped and the matter is put to vote.
  • There are 4 kinds of closure motions


Simple Closure

  • Member moves simple closure when the matter has been sufficiently discussed, to put to vote.


Closure by Compartments

  • Clauses of a bill or a lengthy resolution are grouped into parts.
  • The debate covers the part as a whole and the entire part is put to vote.


Kangaroo Closure

  • Only important clauses are taken up for debate and voting.
  • Other intervening clauses are skipped.


Guillotine Closure

  • Undiscussed clauses of a bill or a resolution are also put to vote along with the discussed ones.
  • It can be done as the time allotted for the discussion is over



Privilege Motion 

  • A member can move it against other member for a breach of privilege of the House.
  • Privilege motion is punishable under law of Parliament.
  • Speaker/RS chairperson is the first level of scrutiny of a privilege motion.
  • Speaker nominates a committee of privileges.
  • It consists of 15 members of Lok Sabha and prepare a report .
  • In Rajya Sabha, the deputy chairperson heads the committee of privileges
  • It consists of 10 members of Rajya Sabha.



Calling Attention Motion

  • It can move by a member to call the attention of a minister to a matter of urgent public importance
  • This motion seek an authoritative statement from a minister.
  • It is an Indian innovation in the parliamentary procedure.
  • Calling attention motion was introduced in 1954.


motions in parliament of india

Adjournment Motion

  • It is introduced in the Parliament to draw attention of urgent public importance.
  • It needs the support of 50 members to be admitted.
  • As it interrupts the normal business of the House, it is regarded as an extraordinary device.
  • It involves an element of censure against the government
  • Rajya Sabha is not permitted to make use of this device.
  • The discussion on an adjournment motion should last for not less than two hours and thirty minutes.
  • It should not cover more than one matter
  • It should be restricted to a specific matter of recent occurrence
  • Adjournment motion should not raise a question of privilege
  • It should not revive discussion on a matter that has been discussed in the same session
  • This motion should not deal with any matter that is under adjudication by court
  • It should not raise any question that can be raised on a distinct motion



Censure Motion

  • It can be brought against the ruling government or against any minister for the failure to act of their policy.
  • It can be moved only in Lok Sabha only by the opposition.
  • A censure motion must specify the charges against the government
  • If a censure motion is passed in the Lok Sabha, the Council of ministers is bound to seek the confidence of the Lok Sabha as early as possible.



No Confidence Motion

  • If it is passed in the Lok Sabha, the council of ministers must resign from office
  • It’s against all the council of ministers or government
  • The motion needs the support of 50 members to be admitted.
  • No prior reason needs to be stated for its adoption in the Lok Sabha
  • Rajya Sabha can’t move no-confidence motion against the Government
  • There is no mention of a no-confidence motion in the constitution
  • Rule 198 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in Lok Sabha, empowers members of lok sabha to doing so.
  • During the third Lok Sabha in 1963, first one was moved by Acharya J B Kripalani against the government headed by Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru.
  • First successful no-confidence motion was moved by Y B Chavan in 1979 against the government of Prime Minister Morarji Desai.

motions in parliament of india


Motion of Thanks

  • The 1st session after each general election and the 1st session of every fiscal year is addressed by the president.
  • In this address, the president outlines the policies and programmes of the government
  • It called ‘Motion of Thanks’.
  • At the end of the discussion, the motion is put to vote.
  • This motion must be passed in the House. Otherwise, it amounts to the defeat of the government.



No-Day-Yet-Named Motion

  • It is a motion that has been admitted by the Speaker but no date has been fixed for its discussion.
  • The Speaker, after consultation with the leader of the House or on the recommendation of the Business Advisory Committee, allots days or part of a day for the discussion


motions in parliament of india


  • The members can move resolutions to draw the attention of the House or the govt. to matters of public interest.
  • A member who has moved a resolution cannot withdraw it except by leave of the House.
  • All resolutions come in the category of substantive motions, that is to say, every resolution is a particular type of motion.
  • All motions are not necessarily put to vote but all the resolutions are required to be voted
  • Resolutions are classified into three categories:


Private Member’s Resolution

  • It is one that is moved by a private member
  • It is discussed only on alternate Fridays and in the afternoon sitting.


Government Resolution

  • It is one that is moved by a minister.
  • It can be taken up any day from Monday to Thursday.

motions in parliament of india

Statutory Resolution

  • It can be moved by any member
  • It is always tabled in pursuance of a provision in the Constitution or an Act of Parliament.


en English

You cannot copy content of this page

Mock Tests