Sultanate of Bengal

Sultanate of Bengal

Ilyas Shahi Dynasty (1342–1415)

  • The first independent Turkic Muslim ruling dynasty in Bengal
  • Ruled from the 14th century to the 15th century.
  • It was founded in 1342 by Shamsuddin Iliyas Shah.
  • Their capital was in Pandua, Hoogly


Ilyas Shahi Dynasty Sultanate of Bengal
Pandua Minar, Hoogly


Shamsuddin Iliyas Shah (1342–58)

  • Shamsuddin Iliyas Shah is the founder of the Ilyas Shahi dynasty
  • He defeated the rulers of Delhi, Sonargaon, Satgaon, Nepal, Orissa and Assam.
  • He was contemporary of Delhi Sultan firuz shah tughlaq.


Sikandar Shah (1358–90)

  • Sikandar Shah also known as Alexander Shah
  • He was the son of Shamsuddin Ilyas Shah
  • Sikandar Shah defeated Firuz Shah Tughlaq in 1359.
  • He constructed Adina Mosque, Pandua.


Ghiyasuddin Azam Shah (1390–1411)

  • Ghiyasuddin Azam Shah established diplomatic relations with the Ming Empire of China
  • Krittibas Ojha, also translated the Ramayana in Bengali during his reign.
  • Ma Huan, a Chinese traveler visited Bengal.
  • Port of Chittagaong was an important trading centre





Ganesha Dynasty (1414 -35)

Raja Ganesha

  • The Ganesha dynasty began with Raja Ganesha in 1414
  • Their capital was Gaur


Jalaluddin Muhammad Shah

  • Son of Raja Ganesha.
  • He was converted to Islam.
  • During his reign Firuzabad Pandua became a populous city.



Ilyas Shahi Dynasty (1435–1487)
  • After Ganesha dynasty Ilyas Shahi Dynasty came in to the power again.


Nasiruddin Mahmud Shah

  • Maladhar Basu, compiler of Sri-Krishna Vijaya, was granted the title of Gunaraja Khan.



 Hussain Shahi Dynasty
Eklakhi Mausoleum, Malda


Hussain Shahi Dynasty (1494–1538)

Alauddin Husain Shah (1494–1519)

  • Alauddin Husain Shah is the founder of Hussain Shahi dynasty.
  • He had served as wazir under Iliyas Shahi dynasty.
  • He was defeated by Bahlol Lodi.
  • Bijay Gupta wrote his Manasamangal Kavya also during his reign.
  • Kavindra Parameshwar, court poet of Paragal Khan, composed the first Bangla Mahabharata in 1515.
  • Alauddin Husain Shah was contemporary of Chaitanya Mahaprabhu.
  • He is also known as Akbar of Bengal.


Ghiyasuddin Mahmud Shah (1533–38)

  • Ghiyasuddin Mahmud Shah was the last Sultan of the Hussain Shahi dynasty of Bengal.
  • Permitted Portuguese to establish factories at Chittagong and Hughli.
  • Ghiyasuddin and his Portuguese allies were defeated by Sher Shah Suri in 1538


en English

You cannot copy content of this page

Mock Tests